Skip to content

UBM Faculty

UBM Seal

The UBM faculty comprise a diverse group of biologists and mathematicians, whose research interests range from population ecology to structural biology but whose common interests involve the application of computational techniques to biological questions. Among the research emphases are structural analyses of proteins, biological clocks, cardiovascular dynamics, epigenetics of sex determination and development, neurobiology, and population ecology. The Executive Committee of the UBM program is composed of faculty from the Departments of Biology, Mathematics and Statistics in the College of Science at Texas A&M University. These Committee members also serve as Principal Investigator and Co-Principal Investigators of the NSF UBM grant, which funds the program. This committee is charged with the development of the program as a whole including new curricula in Biology and Applied Mathematics to foster broader participation in Mathematical Biology at Texas A&M University.

Principal Investigator:
Jay Walton

Jay Walton

Professor
Department of Mathematics
Texas A&M University

Blocker
Room 631 B
College Station, TX 77843-3258
Office: 979-845-7242
Fax: 979-845-2891
Email: jwalton@math.tamu.edu

Co-Principal Investigator:
Deborah Bell-Pedersen

Deborah Bell-Pedersen

Associate Professor
Department of Biology
Texas A&M University

3258 TAMU
Biological Sciences Building East
Room 306C
College Station, TX 77843-3258
Office: 979-847-9237
Lab: 979-847-9239
Fax: 979-845-2891
Email: dpedersen@mail.bio.tamu.edu

Co-Principal Investigator:
Rodney Honeycutt

Rodney Honeycutt

Professor
Joint Appointment in Biology
Department of Wildlife & Fisheries
Texas A&M University

2258 TAMU
Old Heep Building
Room 320B
College Station, TX 77843-2258
Office: 979-847-9426
Lab: 979-847-9463
Fax: 979-845-3786
Email: rhoneycutt@tamu.edu

 

Co-Principal Investigator:
Tom McKnight

Tom McKnight

Professor and Associate Head
Department of Biology
Texas A&M University

3258 TAMU
Biological Sciences Building East
Room 202C
Butler 100B
College Station, TX 77843-3258
Office: 979-845-3896
Lab: 979-845-6749
Fax: 979-845-2891
Email: mcknight@mail.bio.tamu.edu

Co-Principal Investigator:
Thomas Wehrly

Thomas Wehrly

Professor
Department of Statistics
Texas A&M University

3143 TAMU
Blocker
Room 459 C
College Station, TX 77843-3258
Office: 979-845-3141
Fax: 979-845-3144
Email: twehrly@stat.tamu.edu

 

Training Faculty

The Training Faculty are not limited to members of the College of Science. Rather, these members conduct research on a broad range of scientific subjects and participate as training faculty that supervise UBM research fellows. The undergraduate research fellows are required to participate in research projects under the collaborative supervision of one life science and one computational faculty member. The Training Faculty currently includes members of the Departments of Biology, Mathematics and Statistics (College of Science), as well as the Departments of Animal Science, Biochemistry and Biophysics, and Wildlife and Fisheries Science (College of Agriculture and Life Science), and the Departments of Chemical Engineering and Computer Science (Dwight Look College of Engineering).

Department of BiologyDeb Bell-Pedersen
Deb Bell-Pedersen

Professor
Biology
Phone: (979) 847 - 9237
Email: dpedersen@mail.bio.tamu.edu
Department of StatisticsP. Frederick Dahm
P. Frederick Dahm

Professor and Graduate Advisor
Statistics
Phone (979) 845 - 7251
Email: fdahm@stat.tamu.edu
Department of Animal Sciences
Christine Elsik
Christine Elsik.

Assistant Professor
Animal Genetics
Phone (979) 845-2616
Email: c-elsik@tamu.edu
Department of Wildlife and FisheriesLee A. Fitzgerald
Lee A. Fitzgerald

Associate Professor and Faculty Curator
Wildlife and Fisheries
Phone:
Email: lfitzgerald@tamu.edu
Department of Computer Science
Ricardo Gutierrez-Osuna
Ricardo Gutierrez-Osuna

Assitant Professor
Computer Science
Phone: (979) 845 - 2942
Email: rgutier@cs.tamu.edu
Department of Biology Ira Greenbaum
Ira Greenbaum

Professor
Biology
Phone: (979) 845 - 7791
Email: ira@mail.bio.tamu.edu
Department of Chemical Engineering
Juergen Hahn
Juergen Hahn

Assistant Professor
Chemical Engineering
Phone: (979) 845 - 3568
Email: hahn@tamu.edu
Department of Wildlife and FisheriesRodney Honeycutt
Rodney Honeycutt

Professor
Biology and Wildlife and Fisheries
Phone: (979) 847 - 9426
Email: rhoneycutt@tamu.edu
Department of Chemical Engineering
Arul Jayaraman
Arul Jayaraman

Assistant Professor
Chemical Engineering
Phone: (979) 845 - 3306
Email: arulj@tamu.edu

Department of Biology Adam Jones
Adam Jones

Assistant Professor
Biology
Phone: (979) 845 - 7774
Email: ajones@mail.bio.tamu.edu

Department of MathematicsPeter Kuchment
Peter Kuchment

Professor
Mathematics
Phone: (979) 862 - 3257
Email: kuchment@math.tamu.edu
Department of MathematicsPaulo Lima-Filho
Paulo Lima-Filho

Professor
Mathematics
Phone: (979) 845 - 1981
Email: plfilho@math.tamu.edu
Department of BiologyKeith Maggert
Keith Maggert

Assistant Professor
Biology
Phone:(979) 845 - 6610
Email: kmaggert@mail.bio.tamu.edu
Department of BiologyTom McKnight
Tom McKnight

Professor and Associate Head
Biology
Phone: (979) 845 - 3896
Email: mcknight@mail.bio.tamu.edu
Department of BiologyJack McMahan
Jack McMahan

Professor and Department Head
Biology
Phone: (979) 845-2891
Email: grantser@mail.bio.tamu.edu
Department of MathematicsJ. Maurice Rojas
J. Maurice Rojas

Associate Professor
Mathematics
Phone: (979) 845 - 2083
Email: rojas@math.tamu.edu
Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics
Jerry Tsai
Jerry Tsai

Assistant Professor
Biochemistry & Biophysics
Phone: (979) 458 - 3377
Email: JerryTsai@tamu.edu
Department of MathematicsJay R. Walton
Jay R. Walton

Professor
Mathematics
Phone: (979) 845 - 7242
Email: jwalton@math.tamu.edu
Department of StatisticsNaisyin Wang
Naisyin Wang

Professor
Statistics
Phone: (979) 845 - 3141
Email: nwang@stat.tamu.edu
Department of Statistics
Thomas Wehrly
Thomas Wehrly

Professor
Statistics
Phone: (979) 845 - 3141
Email: twehrly@stat.tamu.edu

Department of Plant Pathology & Microbiology
Heather Wilkinson
Heather Wilkinson

Associate Professor
Plant Pathology & Microbiology
Phone: (979) 845-1491
Email: h-wilkinson@tamu.edu

Department of MathematicsCatherine Yan
Catherine Yan

Professor
Mathematics
Phone: (979) 862 - 4476
Email: cyan@math.tamu.edu